Solution of Can’t Find Printer Drivers for Windows 7 64-bit

I recently chose to upgrade my spouse with a new to 64-bit Windows seven laptop. everything went quite smoothly and I had all the applications and data, even the little things like bookmarks, moved above and running just great… at lowest right up until she decided she necessary to print something. “Oh yeah, no sweat! I forgot to put the printer for you!”

Our printer is actually a Canon MF3110 black and white multifunction laser which happens to be shared off an older Vista computer. We get away from it running and use as our house file and printing “server.” Much to my disappointment, I discovered out that Canon decided not to create 64-bit driver for that model (as well as several their other printers which are a couple of years old). Now do not hear me complaining too loud about Canon. I love several their items and especially that printer, generally because I can discover toner capsules at ridiculously low price ranges also it in no way seems to break down.

After seeking around over the internet I observed where an individual had done something similar and shared that model of printer from a XP workstation out as a generic postscript printer using the Ghostscript software program for any Linux Ubuntu system as a way to print to it. I decided I’d try and see if I could do the exact same thing, but rather share it to the 64-bit Windows seven laptop. Certain thing, following a little bit of tweaking; it worked just like a charm!

Here’s what I did:
On my 32-bit computer where my Canon printer is located, I downloaded and mounted below three programs:
Ghostscript Windows 32-bit version:
GsView Windows 32-bit version:
Redmon Port Redirector:

I failed to really do anything custom or unique during the installs. I just let them operate their course.

Again, for the exact same computer where the Canon printer is, I added a new local printer. I named it something generic like Canon64b, (and then here is the 1st tricky part) for the especially next display I chosen “Create a new port” and chosen “Redirected Port” and named it “RPT1:” which should be the default. Then for the model and driver from the printer, I applied something really generic “MS Publisher Image setter” that should already have driver on all Windows systems (including 64-bit versions). Then I shared out the printer to “everyone.” The other tricky part was inside of the Properties from the printer to go to the “Ports” tab and click for the “Configure Port” key for the RPT1 port and setup the proper parameters:

In the “Redirect this port to the program:” area I put in the gsprint program’s location:
C:Program FilesGhostgumgsviewgsprint.exe

For Arguments in the next box down, I put in the title of my genuine printer which happens to be for the computer like this:
-printer “Canon MF3110” –

Note: is crucial that you contain the quotes around the printer, a space and have the ability to a dash for this all to deliver the results properly.

In the Output area: select “Program handles output” and make certain the printer section is pointing to the genuine printer. The operate area should be chosen as “Hidden”

Then I utilized all the changes.

Interactive Hiccup
In order to get it to operate without interaction and prevent displaying a confirmation concept each time I print a page, I needed to copy a computer registry string worth vital using regedit

From this location:
HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindows NTCurrentVersionDevices

To this location:
HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTSoftwareMicrosoftWindows NTCurrentVersionDevices

The vital should be named the exact same as your genuine printer and appear something just like this:
Canon MF3110 REG_SZ winspool,Ne03:

After adding the computer registry key, on my 32-bit computer, I ran a check print from my new virtual Postscript printer and created certain it published fine.

Then I went to my wife’s laptop computer and added the fresh system printer and was capable to print… crisis averted and happy wife!

Leave a Reply

